UCAT Overview

What is the UCAT?

In 2019, the UCAT (University Clinical Aptitude Test) replaced the UMAT as the test required to gain undergraduate entry into many medical and dental degrees in Australia and New Zealand. This includes Monash University and the University of Melbourne. A full list can be found below.

The UCAT is modelled on the UKCAT (UK Clinical Aptitude Test). The main differences between the UCAT and the UMAT are that it is shorter (2 hours), it is performed on a computer, and there are now 5 sections instead of 3.

The UCAT’s 5 sections are:

  1. Verbal Reasoning
  2. Decision Making
  3. Quantitative Reasoning
  4. Abstract Reasoning
  5. Situational Judgement
Universities requiring the UCAT in Australia and New Zealand (updated 2022)
Medical Schools Dental Schools
  • Monash University
  • La Trobe University
  • The University of New South Wales
  • Western Sydney University/
    Charles Sturt University
  • The University of Newcastle/
    University of New England
  • Curtin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • The University of Queensland / Central Queensland University
    (provisional entry)
  • The University of Queensland
  • Griffith University
  • The University of Adelaide
  • Flinders University
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The University of Western Australia
    (assured pathway)
  • The University of Western Australia
    (assured pathway)
  • University of Tasmania
  • None
  • The University of Auckland
  • University of Otago
  • University of Otago
Other courses: Bachelor of Oral Health – The University of Adelaide

Is the UCAT similar to the old UMAT?

Yes, the UCAT and UMAT are still quite similar. This is unsurprising as the two tests attempt to test the same qualities in students.

  • Sections 1-2 are quite similar, but not identical, to the previous section 1
  • Section 4 is extremely similar to the previous section 3
  • Section 5 is similar, but not identical, to the previous section 2

How will tutors at Intuition Academics tutor for the UCAT?

Our tutors have experience across various clinical aptitude tests, including the UCAT, UMAT and ISAT. These tests are all geared towards testing the same qualities in students and are all quite similar. Many students even choose to sit the ISAT each year as practice for the UCAT.

All of our tutors are current medical students or doctors. Our tutors will use their wealth of knowledge and clinical acumen to provide an unrivalled standard of tuition that is tailored towards the UCAT. When you view the profiles of tutors who are tutoring for the UCAT, you may also see their scores for other clinical aptitude tests, for example the UMAT and ISAT. This is to give you the comfort of knowing that your tutor is an expert.

What is the ISAT?

The ISAT, or International Students Admissions Test, is the test required for international students to gain entry into various medical, dental, and health science courses in Australia. It is a 3-hour, computer-based, multiple choice assessment designed to illicit a student’s intellectual abilities. It is the equivalent test to the UCAT for international students.

Learn more about the structure of the ISAT.

Quick links